Dedication And Compassion
In Difficult Times.

Comprehensive legal assistance in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania.

Why driving on a suspended license isn’t worth it

If you have a DUI conviction and had your license suspended, you may not realize how important it is for you to avoid driving in Pennsylvania. In December 2018, new state laws went into effect, making the penalties stiffer for those caught driving on a suspended license. The laws also became stricter for repeat DUI offenders.

Now if you have a suspended license after a DUI and police cite you for speeding, you will face a mandatory 60-day jail sentence and get a $500 fine. If this this is your second offense, you could face 90 days in jail, as well as paying court fees and causing more damage to your criminal record.

Here are some other examples of what you might be facing if you lost your license because of a DUI and you drive on a suspended license:

First offense

  • If you refuse to submit to a blood alcohol (BAC) test: up to $500 fine and between 60 and 90 days in jail
  • If you have a BAC level of .02 or higher: $1,000 mandatory fine and a minimum of 90 days in jail

Second offense

  • Third-degree misdemeanor charge, $2,500 fine and six months to one year in jail

Third offense

  • First-degree misdemeanor, $5,000 fine and two to five years in jail

Always needing get rides to work from friends and family members, for months, isn’t easy. Neither is relying on mass transit for more than a year. If you are facing DUI charges or charges of driving on a suspended license, you need to consult an experienced attorney. They could help reduce what a DUI conviction will cost you and its impact on your driving record.

Fields marked with an * are required

Louis Emmi

Louis Emmi