Get to know your options after a DUI arrest
Getting a DUI can be a serious problem that results in harsh penalties. You might lose your license or the ability to drive, lose your job or lose your position in a club or other activity. If you attend school, you might be suspended for your actions.
As someone accused of a DUI, it’s vital that you take steps to prevent a conviction. Start by understanding what the prosecution needs to obtain one.
What evidence can be used against you in court?
The evidence that can be used varies, but some possible pieces of evidence that can be submitted to court include:
- Breathalyzer, blood or urine test results
- Field sobriety test results
- Confessions of guilt
- Police reports with photographs/videos of containers or other signs of drinking or using drugs
Your attorney’s job is to make sure that the evidence that could be used was collected in accordance with the law. If it is missing or there were violations of your rights, the evidence might not be admissible in court.
Don’t drink and drive when underage if you can avoid it
Pennsylvania has a zero-tolerance law for underage drinking, though the law does allow for a blood alcohol content of .019 percent or lower. If you violate the law by having a .02 percent BAC, you could face a jail term, even as a juvenile.
The good news is that there is an Accelerated Rehabilitative Disposition program in Pennsylvania. For first-time DUIs, this diversion program can help you avoid a conviction. It’s something to consider carefully since it could help you protect your reputation moving forward.