Most states, including Pennsylvania, takes driving under the influence of alcohol very seriously, Because of this, the consequences can be severe. If you find yourself facing DUI charges, here is what you can expect.

This post will look at what to expect if this is your first DUI. It should be known that the penalties are more severe if you receive a second or third DUI charge.

If your BAC was between .08 percent and .099 percent…

This is what is known as general impairment. In Pennsylvania, a first offense of driving under general impairment will get you six months of probation, a common penalty that acts to prevent you from committing another offense of driving under the influence right away. You will also be charged a $300 fine and need to take mandatory classes on driver safety.

If your BAC was .10 percent to .159 percent…

This is a fairly high level of impairment, so it comes with more severe consequences. Depending on the severity of the case, the penalty could vary. A first offense with this high of impairment will get your license suspended for at least one year. You will also do prison time. Depending on the severity, you could be there between 48 hours and six months. You will also be charged a hefty fine of anywhere from $500 to $5,000. Classes on driving safety is also mandatory.

If your BAC was higher than .16 percent…

This is a very high blood alcohol content level, so the consequences are the most severe. You will still have an automatic license suspension of at least one year. The amount of prison time increases from 72 hours to 6 months, as well as the fine increase of $1,000 to $5,000. Driving safety classes are mandatory here as well.

The easiest way to avoid getting a DUI is to not drive after drinking. However, if you are charged with a DUI it can be beneficial to know what to expect.